Gov. Diri’s Immediate Past Aide On Tourism Appoints Prof. Esu As Chair of Planning Committee of BRACED Tourism Promotion Inauguration In Uyo, May 22-24

Immediate past Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to Bayelsa State Governor on Tourism and Chairman, Board of Trustees of BRACED Tourism Promotion & Development Initiative (BTPDI), Dr. Piriye Kyaramo has named Prof. Bassey Esu of the University of Calabar as Chairman, Central Planning Committee.

Other members of the planning committee are Prof. Edem Eniang of the University of Uyo, Amb. Usen Udoh, newly appointed Director General/CEO of BTPDI, Mrs. Ifiokobong Anthony Akan and Pastor Kelvin Otung. They are to organise the inauguration of the pioneer regional executive council of the body in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, May 22-24.

Speaking during the inauguration of the central planning committee and subcommittees in a virtual meeting Tuesday evening, Dr. Kiyaramo described BRACED Tourism Promotion & Development Initiative as a pioneering destination management organisation in the South-South region, noting that effective planning lays the basis for strategic thinking and action from everyone to contribute his or her quota to achieving organisational set goals.

He explained that membership of the body was made up of tourism operators and experts across board from the private and public sectors who are committed to working in partnership with the state governments, development partners, non governmental organisations and other stakeholders in the region a destination of choice, adding that membership was opened to people of the region who are committed to the economic prosperity of the region with a view to harnessing its tourism potentials.

The chairman, board of trustees enjoined the central planning committee and subcommittees’ members to remain focused on the task ahead, while reiterating the need for cooperation to among them to ensure that available resources were maximised to make the most strategic contribution to achieving the purpose of the task at hand, just as he advised them collaborate with local, state, regional and national public authorities and private sector organizations to have a hitch free and successful inauguration.

“Your task is to organise the inauguration of the pioneering south south regional destination management organization and as such you are expected to lead, coordinate and manage all pre-inauguration activities as well as play the role of strategic leaders to market the initiative.

“You should be able to coordinate and integrate all elements of a destination mix in the south south region and draw up a coherent marketing strategy to ensure good performance, competitiveness and sustainability with a view to marketing the region as a single tourism bloc,” Dr. Kiyaramo emphasized.

In his address, Chairman, Central Planning Committee, Prof. Bassey Esu recalled that “after fews months of conception and virtual existence, the board of trustees considers the stage ripe for her to be delivered into the real where she will operate to achieve the lofty and great goals that the founders have set for it.”

Prof. Esu who is also the Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees, pointed out that “to actualize this, the board constituted a central committee and subcommittees with the respondibility to plan and organise an event for the inauguration of Pioneer Executive Council of BRACED Tourism Promotion & Develolment Iniative which will undertake to perform the day – to- day running of the organization. We are gathered here this evening to witness the commissioning of these subcommittees by the Board of Trustees’ chairman and to have him give his charge to them to hit the ground and start running.”

He said the central inauguration committee has designed and developed an event management strategy for the subcommittees to run with, saying that the event will be held at multiple venues which include: Vinpy Hotel, Ibom Icon and Golf Resort and Uyai Cuisine all in Uyo. He also announced the Board’s approval of May 22nd – 24th, 2024 as date for the official inauguration of the pioneer executive committee.

In her vote of thanks, the newly appointed Director of Finance, Lady Fiona Ejimofor expressed her gratitude to the members for their insightful contributions and valuable feedbacks and solicited their full cooporation and commitment to the discussions, pointing out that that their willingness to collaborate would truly make the inauguration event a huge success.

“I would like to thank the chairman of the inauguration central planning committee, Prof. Bassey Esu for facilitating of the meeting and bringing his expertise and professionalism to bear in guiding us through the agenda in a clear and organized manner. I want to thank every other person who facilitated in one way or the other for planning and coordinating everything seamlessly to ensure that we had a productive and engaging session this evening.

“Thank you once again for your time, energy, and dedication. Your efforts are greatly appreciated and will undoubtedly contribute to the future success of our organization. We look forward to continuing our work together in the future”, Lady Ejimofor said.

Finance and venue subcommittees are chaired by the Director General/Chief Executive Officer, Mrs. Ifiokobong Anthony Akan, with Lady Fiona Ejimofor and Lady Tarela Kia as members, while Mrs. Eno Itemobong, Dr. Blessing Anam, Mrs. Anthony Ememobong, Pst. Kelvin Otung, Amb. Usen Udoh and Dr. Mrs. Aniekan Emmanuel as members of venue subcommittee.

The Media and Publicity subcommittee is chaired by veteran journalist and editor, Andrew Iro Okungbowa, with Emmanuel Ekaidem, Engr. Prince Willy Ibiok, Hon. Dave Asei as members, while Registration and Intelligence subcommittee is chaired by Dr. Blessing Akong, with Enai B Glory and Mrs. Augusta Torubiri as members.

Intergovernmental/Mobilization subcommittee is chaired by Sophy Zainab, Walter Aberepikima, Hon. Dr. Fidelia Salami, Pst. Kelvin Otung, Crown Prince Chris Abasi Eyo Esu Udombo, Prof Edem Eniang, Barr. Chief Francis O. Wainwei. Esq., as members.

Hospitality subcommittee is chaired by Amb. Usen Udoh with Prof. Edem Eniang, Lady Bridget Oroupau and Leo Ruth Fabian Nkoteto as members, while Transportation subcommittee has Barr. Kesther Akanimo Inyang as Chairman with Mr. Ubong Ekpe and Udeme Udo as members. Marketing, Exhibition & Sponsorship subcommittee is chaired by Pst. Kelvin Otung, with
Crown Prince Chris Abasi Eyo Esu Udombo, Prof. Bassey Benjamin, Prof. Edem Eniang and Barr. Chief Francis O. Wainwei. Esq., as members.

It will be recalled that Bassey Benjamin Esu is a Professor of Tourism and hospitality marketing at University of Calabar, Cross River State. He is a scholar with wide industry experience in tourism development, marketing, hospitality and a prolific tourism researcher with several international certificates including, Certified Hospitality Trainer (CHT) and IATA travels and Tourism consultant.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *